Jess & Lee
Abbey House Hotel Wedding Photographer
"A Premium Hotel & Wedding Venue Barrow in Furness Cumbria. At the bottom of the South lakes lies Abbey House Hotel & Gardens which is just a short drive from the Heart of the English Lake District, only 20 minutes from Windermere. Our luxury Cumbria hotel and wedding venue is an ideal base for your special day. Set in 14 acres of private woodland and gardens on the outskirts of Barrow In Furness Cumbria, the hotel takes its name from the neighbouring ruins of one of the greatest Cistercian foundations in the country, Furness Abbey. The Furness Abbey is accessible from the grounds."
Abbey House Hotel. Premium Hotel & Wedding Venue Barrow in Furness Cumbria. Our luxury Cumbria hotel and wedding venue is the perfect place for you to explore the surrounding area and even Morecambe Bay. There is plenty to see in the immediate area of Cumbria as well as venturing further up the lakes to take in the sights of this beautiful county. The lake district offers breathtaking scenery and picture postcard views that are rivalled by none. The Abbey House hotel was designed in 1910 and built in 1914 by Sir Edwin Lutyens (1869 - 1944). The original sandstone mansion was the home and guest house of Commander Craven, Chairman of Vickers Ship building. Many dignitaries came to stay, including King George V the Prince of Wales, The Queen mother whilst she was the Duchess of York, and even the Prince of Siam. They visited for the launching of ships and for conferences and enjoyed the local hospitality.
The great Abbey hall has remained the same, the main bar area was the original billiard room, the restaurant was the drawing room, the stable bar was used as the dining room, the Furness room was a private sitting room and just off that was the Lutyens which was used as the card room. The reception area of the hotel and back office were used as the servants hall. In 1951 the building was taken over by Barrow Borough Council and was primarily used as a home for the elderly. We still have the occasional visitor who remembers it as this.
The home was closed in 1983 as it was deemed to be uneconomical and fell into disrepair. The present owners (Kilroe Family) bought the premises in March 1986 and converted the main building into the hotel that you now see today. The new extension was added and opened in 2000, ensuring that the original style and elegance of the building were preserved throughout. Sir Edwin Lutyens designed over 3 dozen major English country houses and altered and added to many more. He re-modelled Lindisfarne Castle and built Castle Drogo; both castles are now owned by the National Trust. Lutyens also designed Gertrude Jekyll`s Home. He also designed the cenotaph in Whitehall, Thiepval arch on the Somme, the Viceroy’s house in New Deli India, the British Embassy in Washington and the magnificent Johannesburg Art Gallery. Queen Mary’s dolls house was also designed by Sir Edwin and this stands in Windsor Castle.